Blogia
ORACLE NIGHT

CONDITIONAL SENTENCES TYPE II

The second conditional (also called conditional type 2) is a structure used for talking about unreal situations in the present or in the future. 


The structure of a second conditional sentence

Like a first conditional, a second conditional sentence consists of two clauses, an "if" clause and a main clause:

 

if clausemain clause
If I had a million dollars, I would buy a big house.

If the "if" clause comes first, a comma is usually used. If the "if" clause comes second, there is no need for a comma:

 

main clauseif clause
I would buy a big house if I had a million dollars.

We use different verb forms in each part of a second conditional:

 

if clauseif + subject + simple past verb*
main clausesubject + would + verb

*Note that this "simple past" form is slightly different from usual in the case of the verb BE. Whatever the subject, the verb form is "were", not "was": If I were rich, I’d buy a big house.

Click HERE and HERE.

If you had a million dollars, what would you do?     http://www.genkienglish.net/milliondollars.htm

 

If I had a million dollars (Fill in the gaps)   http://www.helping-you-learn-english.com/second-conditional.html

 

ANOTHER SECOND CONDITIONAL SONG: iF i WERE A BOY - BY BEYONCE

0 comentarios