Blogia
ORACLE NIGHT

Portugal's winning song with English subtitles

Portugal have won the Eurovision Song Contest for the first time in the competition’s history.

Salvador Sobral, 27, won with his love ballad Amar Pelos Dois, which was written by his sister.

He said on receiving the trophy: "We live in a world of fast food music. This is a victory for music... music isn’t fireworks, music is feeling." (Click HERE, too)

Read the translation into English in the video above.... Would you have chosen the same words to translate the song from Portuguese into English? (Another translation HERE)

 

And this is a "free" adaptation:

UNOFFICIAL LYRICS

If I lived a dream,
I’d ask you to dance,
with time standing still just for you.

And though I forget
it’s only a dream,
I picture your face all day through.

Dance, love.
Smile, and you are glistening.
Laugh as no one’s listening,
and never let me leave.

Make me
forget about our quarrels.
In dreams, there are no sorrows.
May I spend this dream with you?

Dance, love.
Smile, and you are glistening.
Laugh as no one’s listening,
and never let me leave.

Make me
forget about our quarrels.
In dreams, there are no sorrows.
And I’m once again with you.

In dreams, there are no sorrows.
May I spend this dream with you?

 

Other versions of the song HERE

0 comentarios